Customer helpline: 0333 030 0446

What does DBS check show?

Whilst there are three different levels of DBS check the amount of information revealed depends on the level of check.

Basic DBS check: Contains details of any unspent convictions or conditional cautions the applicant has.

Standard DBS checks will show details of spent and unspent convictions, cautions, reprimands and final warnings held on police records.

Enhanced DBS checks show the same information as standard checks, plus any additional information held by local police considered relevant to the role in question.

Enhanced with barred lists checks show the same information as Enhanced checks, but also include a check of the DBS barred list.

Back to videos

Start my check


More DBS check FAQ videos